Top 10 Reasons You Need Another Loom Right Now

June 10, 2008

10.   This kind of loom is only getting more and more popular.  You’ll never find another this cheap.

9.  You’ll be more productive, because it will prevent you from tying up your main loom with super time-consuming warps.

8.  You’ll learn more, because you’ll be willing to try more time-consuming weaves.

7.  It’s small (for a loom).  You can put it . . . somewhere when you’re not using it.

6.  If you decide you don’t really need it, you can sell it on eBay.

5.  Maybe you’ll even turn a profit.  It’s an investment.

4.  You can warp it up and loan it to your favorite relative who has expressed an interest in weaving.

3. Lots of people have 2 {3, 4, 5…} looms.

2. You’ll use up all that cruddy yarn you’ve been given.

1.  It’s old!  It’s cute!  If you don’t buy it, some unappreciative schmuck will stick it in their closet for 40 years!

4 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons You Need Another Loom Right Now”

  1. Jane Says:

    Two loom or not two loom: that is the question. . . . To grunt and sweat under a weary loom, but that the dread of something once more to thread, the undiscover’d warps from which
    No weaver returns — puzzles the will
    And makes us rather bear those ills we have
    Than fly to others that we know not of?

    Thus conscience does make cowards of us all . . .
    _______________
    Of course you must have that second loom. . . it’s loom karma. No loom should sit about naked save for a cloak of dust. It’s a mission of mercy, certainly it is. I hereby give you permission to rescue that loom!

    Jane <— who has 3 in assorted sizes, and recently passed one old, cutie along to a new weaver who loves it madly and keeps it well dressed.

  2. Stef Says:

    At some point in your weaving career, you may reach reason #11, which is that you can always use the extra looms to teach people to weave. I reached that point several years ago and, before I knew what was happening, I had six looms. Yes, that’s right. Six. Six looms!

    I do have to say, however, that if you choose wisely and purchase used looms in excellent condition, you probably won’t lose value. In fact, my husband once mentioned that buying and selling looms should be my business because I made more money than I did selling handwoven goods. Sheesh!

  3. Barb Fessler Says:

    You never have enough looms. Who cares if they are an investment if you enjoy them. I have an Ashford 8 harness table loom for workshops and samples, 36″ – 8 harness Schacht I like to use for runners and linen, 8 harness Baby Wolf for light weight weaving, Dorset folding loom for demonstrations and I recently bought a 4 harness Harrisville because it was such a good buy and we all have assorted inkle looms. I forget my 7 foot triangle. I use each and every one. And like my many spinning wheels don’t know which ones I would give up if we had to down size.


  4. […] You were expecting me to come home with another great honking floor loom after this post, weren’t […]


Leave a Reply

