Fleeing the Landlord

February 3, 2009

From this:
duplex

 

to this:

frontdoor

 

But not until the end of the month.  In the mean time I am very busy and tired. Whelmed, but not over, if you know what I mean.  I hope to offer some updates later.  Does anyone know how you remove wood glue that someone has squirted liberally under all the lifting seams of wallpaper, directly onto improperly skim-coated sheet rock (gypsum board), without taking the paper off the sheet rock?

And as long as I’m asking for advice: can anyone tell me how front-loading washers treat handwovens?  Do you have one?  Do you like it?  I know they are more efficient than the old fashioned tub-and-agitator kind of washing machine, but I’m worried there would be not-enough swirly water going on, and too much slapping.  For the first time I am shopping for a major appliance, and I find that Consumer Reports doesn’t mention whether this or that washing machine is likely to tangle and unevenly shrink one’s handwoven yardages.

21 Responses to “Fleeing the Landlord”

  1. Sue Says:

    At first I thought your post meant you painted your front door without telling your landlord…and I was impressed with your painting skills!

    I have a front-loader and I love it. It treats our clothes so well. Jeans last noticeably longer since we’ve had this machine.

    For handwovens, I’ve washed mostly dishtowels in it – and I need them to stand up to regular washing with regular loads of wash. This machine has been fine for them.

    I also recently washed my Texsolv heddles and cords and the machine did a great, great job. Prior to that experiment I was thinking I might have to replace some of the grungy stuff that came with my loom, but my washing machine salvaged that pricey Texsolv.

    Hopefully some one else will come along to chime in on washing more delicate types of handwoven fabric!

    Congrats on your new place!

  2. Jane Says:

    Can’t help you with the glue issue – rats! As for the front loader, I love mine. Two things:

    1) Rather than buying the expensive “underdrawer” for both it and the dryer, my beloved built a really nice platform with shelves to put them on, and measured them so that the height is custom fit for me — thus I never have to bend down, stoop, or otherwise compromise my back when I’m putting clothes in and out of each. Fabulous! And more storage underneath.

    2) Handwovens. Trickier than just lifting the lid on a top loading machine. However, mine does have an ultra-delicate-handwash cycle, and a pause button. So I can pause — then drain. But unless I’m wet finishing cotton towels, or some other sturdy fabric, I still hand wash, as it’s more of a hassle for me than a top loader. With my frontloader there is a Point of No Return. Where in order to get things to drain, there is some spinning involved. I can’t just reach in (or water would pour out onto the floor).

    Hope this info is helpful — and congrats on the new place! Can’t wait to hear what you do with it.

    Cheerio,
    Jane

  3. deborahbee Says:

    Help! Moving house! Sounds both exciting and earth shattering!, though I know you had issues with the landlord. Are you going far? Is there space for a Bergman? Well of course there is, you wouldn’t consider life without her!
    Do you know it never occured to me that anyone had anything other than a front loader. As I havn’t woven much yet I can’t pass on words of wisdom about handwovens.All the best in your nnew home and go carefully with the lifting.

  4. Dorothy Says:

    In the UK we have all been stuck with front loaders for several years. The key issue is what are the wash cycles it offers? Is there a wool wash, or delicates – these run at 30 degrees with low agitation? If not, you might want to hand wash wool, silk, or anything delicate, and just spin in the machine. I put handwoven cottons in any wash at 40 degree.

    The wood glue sounds like a problem – I’ve always been told modern glues are stronger than the wood, so wouldn’t expect it to disolve or scrape off easily.

    Hope the house move goes well.

  5. deborahbee Says:

    Hi Trapunto…me again. 2 things! A lady called Susan Berlin contacted me from Canada near Seattle. She has just bought a 45″ Bergman She left a comment on my blog. . I told her about you but she has already found all your Bergman info but she may get in touch.She is curious about the manufacturer numbers on the looms and their meaning. I am in touch with her by e-mail (she isn’t a blogger)
    Second thing…your idea about Marjorie demonstrating in a dept store makes sense. I was looking at the picture again and it must be a store and not a house. thanks for that

  6. Elaine Says:

    Hi there… also two comments. Regards a front loader, that’s all I’ve had for about 15 years now. No problems with anything. Of course, I tend to hand wash all delicates, including fine handwovens, but I have put handwoven articles into my front loader. I think it is critical that you have a delicate cycle. The spin cycle is much less vigorous than in the regular cycle. Same goes for the permanent press cycle on mine. There is plenty of water, and no, there isn’t the “slap” you imagine, unless you only have one small article in that washer. The water savings is substantial, and everything lasts longer.

    Second, I need to get in contact with this Susan Berlin that Deborahbee mentioned in her note… I’m on Camano Island north of Seattle, about 75 minutes from the border at Vancouver. I ALSO have a Bergman, 45″ working width. The gal I bought mine from was from Seattle, she’d replaced the heddles with Texsolv, but I don’t understand it at all. Right now, it’s out in the garage, waiting to come back into the house. Mine is not dark like yours, I’m guessing the wood is curly maple? Mine is also 4 harness, 6 treadle. I’m hunting information and connections. We need a club!

  7. Kelly Says:

    As a spinner, I wouldn’t get a front loader. I use my washer to wash/soak and spin fleece. I fill the washer, put the fleece in, let it soak and then spin only. I also use this method to wash my wool rugs and blankets–no agitation, just soak and spin. It is like handwashing, but for things too big to handwash easily. Felting is another thing I do in my washer, but I think I could probably do this in a front loader. I would just have to adjust my method.

  8. susan Says:

    It sounds as though you will need a *sharp* scraper for the patched paper. try going in at an angle like you are filleting a fish! If it lifts some of the paper of the sheet rock, patch filler will do the trick, though you may need to do it several times and sand in between. (I just did a lot of wall paper removing and painting this last spring and much more to come this spring) Failing all this, ask at a paint store or Home Depot.

    Sorry I can’t help you with the washer… though I drool at the thought of having a pair of modern machines… in bright red or blue…
    I normally hand wash my handwovens or use the gentle cycle on my Maytag top loader.

    Since we are looking at new doors for our home, I must say that I like your new front door. It has a classy look to it and I hope you are very happy there for many years. You, the family and your Bergman

    🙂 Susan


  9. Trapunto, Happy Moving!!! I know you’ve wanted to leave the current landlord behind for some time now. Sorry, I can’t help with either issue; I have a relatively new top loader, so I won’t be changing any time soon. Did you know, there are very small portable washing machines (like 16x16x30″) that sell for under $200? (I’ve been eyeing them as I’m banned from using our washing machine for raw fleece…)

    Elaine: Your post made me smile — Thank You for the tip on washing the “Handwoven” articles — now I’ll know what to do if any of my magazines get soiled!

    I’ve also been in e-mail contact with Susan from Canada — but have been of little help as I haven’t done a thing with my Berman looms yet. Yes, that’s right — I have 2. I won’t say more about the second because I’m stuck in getting started on the first, even though Trapunto has kindly been sending me singing mice as encouragement — Thank You, by the way! (Are you moving any closer to Seattle?!!!)


  10. I just googled mini washing machines and came up with more models that are even smaller (and less expensive) than what I thought. I wonder how they would do with fine washables!

  11. deborahbee Says:

    Deborah again,Elaine who posted a comment want to contact Susan Berlin. Elaine doen’t seem to have a blog. I am happy to pass on Susan Berlins e-mail address but don’t feel I should leave it on a comment, its a bit public. Posibly you are in contact with Susan yourself and can pass contact on. Otherwise can we sort something out…..

  12. Deanna Says:

    I would love to get a contact point for Bergman loom owners. I would love an 8 shaft, but I do have a 4 shaft. It’s in the garage under some stuff…I know, every time I drive in I see it and feel bad. I want to refinish the wood and get it working. I bought it from a woman who thought she would be a weaver, and it sat at her house for years and got some paint spatter on it during that time.

  13. trapunto Says:

    Thank you for the washer advice everyone. It’s been really helpful! I think I’ve made my choice for a machine, now the problem is just finding a store that has it in stock.

    Yes, let’s get the 45″ Bergman ladies in touch, Deborah. I’ll email you.

    Hi Deanna. You stopped by a while ago, if I recall. Don’t feel bad. Just wait for day when you have the energy and take it in stages. Maybe pull it out and dust it off and have a look at it in the driveway when the weather starts to get nice, and see if you start to feel a little inspired. I guarantee it’s do-able, getting weaving on your Bergman, and probably easier than you think. Oh, and don’t worry about the paint splatters! I’m all for patina. A loom with paint splatters can weave just fine; it’s a pity if that should become a road block to weaving.

  14. trapunto Says:

    As a matter of fact Spinninglizzy, I’m moving about 14 miles closer to Seattle, as the crow flies!

    Oh my gosh, where are you going to put it? Congratulations! I’m all ears!

  15. Louisa Says:

    Congrats on the move to better digs! Hope the move goes smoothly. I’m glad you got some good advice on both the wallpaper/glue problem and the washing machine. I’m crossing my fingers that my older top loader continues on for some years yet since I use it for washing fleece, handwoven yard goods and felting. I have no desire to learn how to make do with a front loader until I absolutely have no choice!

  16. Suzan Says:

    Hiya Trapunto! Have been lost in my own silly world for days. Very nice front door and so wonderful that you are moved now. Nothing is harder than moving in my mind.

  17. Jane Says:

    *sigh* I miss our Trapunto *sigh*

  18. Suzan Says:

    me too – where oh where has she gone?

  19. Cally Says:

    I’m horrified. You posted this on 3rd Feb and Bloglines is telling me now on 3rd March?? Well, I’m glad you have found a new place, that must be a great relief – or will be, once the moving hassle is over. The only trouble with front-loaders (as Dot says, that is basically all we get over here) is that it is harder to stop mid-cycle and see how things are going.

  20. dragonknit Says:

    delurking here…I love my front loader although I haven’t been able to use it for quite some time. The only drawback is that you often can’t stop it mid cycle like you can a top loader.

  21. Taueret Says:

    ugh, I bet by now the caulking nightmare is over. Just wanted to say that frontloaders are way WAY gentler on delicate fabrics than top loaders. Mine has a “handwash” setting and a “wool” setting and I use both for handknits and handwovens- and it’s gentler in fact than hand washing. I LOVE MY FRONT LOADER.


Leave a Reply

