First Time For Everything

March 30, 2009

So.  Not.


You’re Brave New World!

by Aldous Huxley

With an uncanny ability for predicting the future, you are a true psychic. You can see how the world will change and illuminate the fears of future generations. In the world to come, you see the influence of the media, genetic science, drugs, and class warfare. And while all this might make you happy, you claim the right to be unhappy. While pregnancy might seem painful, test tube babies scare you most. You are obsessed with the word “pneumatic”.


Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

 

At least I’ve read it.  Or rather listened to it.  Michael York did a recording that had me laughing every time he said “zippy cami-knicks.” 

Cally’s to blame.

7 Responses to “First Time For Everything”

  1. Cally Says:

    It’s true you know, you’re always saying it: pneumatic this, pneumatic that… I just didn’t like to mention it.

    I really enjoyed this when I read it in my teens, but I re-read it later to lesser effect.

  2. Suzan Says:

    My favorite Huxley has got to be “After Many a Summer Dies the Swan”. The Secret to immortality is carp guts.


  3. Oh, yes, I agree Cally — such liberal sprinkling of “pneumatic” in your writing — borders on overuse…


  4. Where are you, Trapunto? You are missed!!!

  5. deborahbee Says:

    I’m just dropping in to see how you are. I miss your presence and hope you are surviving the house move.I can imagine weaving is the last thing you have the energy to tackle at the moment. This is not a hassle(I hope) but I just wondered how you were

  6. Dot Says:

    Hope everything is going well, best wishes.

  7. trapunto Says:

    I was thinking of writing an entry called, “The House that Devoured Trapunto,” but then I wrote about a cat instead. Thanks for checking in. As to how I am, I have been finding it harder and harder to escape the fact that my house space is my head space. I don’t know why this is, but it is. Therefore, moldy, half finished, splintery, monumental, uncomfortable, mismanaged, broken-down and overwhelming, is how I am

    I wonder if there isn’t something in this book fortune-telling. I’m actually quite fond of the word “pneumatic.” And babies certainly scare me most.


Leave a Reply

