Scrapple

December 7, 2009

I finally got some pictures, so here’s the first scarf I wove in November; not the ugly one.

Scrapple involves cornmeal and organ meat and is not something I’ve actully eaten. I would if it came my way. In my family the term is “hash,” but the principle is the same. Hash is a catch-all word for a fry up involving chopped leftover meat, potatoes or hominy, maybe an onion, and whatever is in the fridge that would not make it too unappetizing. If you’ve got corned beef, that elevates the meal to “Corned Beef Hash.” Otherwise: Ham, Pot Roast, crumbled up leftover hamburger patties. Turkey run through the grinder. Homemade chili sauce and cabbage relish are the proper condiments. No, we do not break an egg over our hash. That would be a waste of an egg!

Since this is one of the last two scarves I managed to squeeze from the scraps of Great Granny’s small stash of wool, and it is meaty colors, scrapple seemed like the name for it.

Scarf: Scrapple

Plain weave on rigid heddle loom

Warp: old knitting wool of various sizes, wound on upside-down ironing board legs one notch back from narrowest setting, then cut (therefore doubled in length.)

From Great Granny’s stash:
pale eraser pink baby yarn
burgundy worsted

From thrift store:
rust DK weight
scarlet baby yarn

Weft: antique weaving wool–very fine, springy hot pink–about 20/2

Ends: 99

Heddle: 9-and-a-bit epi

Picks per inch: about 7

Length on loom: 62 1/2″ excluding fringe

Width in reed: 10 7/8″

Woven length: 56″ (w/o fringe)

Woven width: 9 3/8″

Finished length: 51 5/8″ (w/o fringe)

Finished width: 8 1/2″

Fringes: hemstitched in bundles of four, trimmed to 2″

Conclusions: I wound off all the yarn then composed the stripes by rearranging the separate threads around in the grooves of my rigid heddle loom’s cloth and warp beam until I got something that had some definition and broke up the burgundy sufficiently. This method worked pretty well.

To separate the warp, I used flimsy beige wrapping paper which I had taped together into one long roll. It got slightly crooked. Cumulative effect was enough to stretch one side of warp noticeably. Need some beaming sticks or better paper–possibly shorter sheets.

This scarf is for one of my half-sisters. I don’t know if she makes hashes. I’ll have to ask her. Our mom was more into casseroles than skillet meals; hash was something we ate at granny’s house. Der Mann and I see it as a treat because we don’t usually cook big enough pieces of meat to have leftovers.

7 Responses to “Scrapple”


  1. Looks lovely and soft. (OK, I thought it was Scarf+Apple, but I was wrong…)

  2. Dot Says:

    I’m fascinated to see how well the stripes work.

    I’m not sure about warping with paper, I know most people do for small looms, but I’m not confident it works as well as sticks.

    • trapunto Says:

      I split the difference and used paper sticks for my next two scarves! It beamed more evenly. The only problem is there isn’t much space for the bulk of beaming sticks on the eensy warp beam, which also releases the cloth off the top, so you have to wedge the sticks in on the underside, one handed. I think an old split-bamboo roller blind might be about right.


  3. That is a beautiful arrangement of those colors! I love that you are using your GreatGranny’s stash!
    Try heavier paper (I reuse brown paper grocery bags). I’ve wondered about using but haven’t tried yet are the slats from cheap plastic venetian blinds. I’m searching thrift stores for a wooden venetian blind.
    Beef pot roast hash is the best, we eat it for breakfast the day after we have pot roast for dinner. Yum!

    • trapunto Says:

      Thanks for the tip. They’ve stopped giving out paper bags around here. I’ll have to remember to ask for them.

  4. deborahbee Says:

    This scarf is lovely….though its neither Srapply or hashy but more blackberry and apple. I identify 100% with using up bits and pieces though ,whether granny’s, mother-in-laws or charity shops! Which obviously brings us back to hash which is delicious (with corned beef of course) and lots of Lea and Perrins sauce.


Leave a Reply

