Pics to Picks Challenger Waves the White Flag

June 6, 2010

Dear Challenged:

(No, wait a minute.  That sounds terrible!)

Ahem.  Dear Challengees:

I have no weaving to show you. I do have:

1. A pair of linen trousers.

2. A crewel embroidery book from the library with excellent diagramatic instructions, particularly for making “spiderweb roses.”

3.  A very old book of Swedish weaving drafts that belonged to the original owner of my Bergman loom, and someone else before her.

4.  Shiny Japanese crochet linen.  I’ve been saving it for the perfect weaving project.  Subtle colors.  Silver gray, a sand/pale khaki, and an indescribable blue that makes me sigh with pleasure.

5.  A table loom on which it is impossible to weave linen.

6.  No discretionary time.

7.  No energy.

8.  No foreseeable increase in either item 6 or item 7.

So there you have it, Pics to Picks Peeps.  Challenge unmet.

My plan was to construct a small panel by stretching the trouser linen over a wooden frame, weave a latice out of the three colors of linen using a draft from the Swedish book, lay it over the trouser linen panel, and embroider climbing crewel roses through it in shades of pink, coral, apricot, and white.  An echo of the lace gloves and ribbon roses in my inspiration photo.

I’m not a sketcher.  Or rather, I do all my sketching in my head.  I rejected and refined different versions of my project in quite a bit of detail in there.  Short of whatever different directions my materials might have taken me once I had them in hand, the concept was complete.

When will it materialize?  I can’t say.  My life is not weaving friendly or anything friendly at the moment.  This isn’t a complete surprise.  I had reservations about participating since I knew how these spring months (Northern hemisphere) always evaporate into a haze of imperatives.  I signed up anyway.  And it was fun to work from Linda’s photograph.  I discovered that when I designed from a starting place someone else chose, it made everything less serious.

Perhaps the most enjoyable part was the moment I stopped trying to construct a draft, remembering that I already had just the sort of thing I wanted in the old Swedish book–a “mosquito curtain.”  Translating the instructions into English was like a scavenger hunt for words.  My Swedish dictionary is in a box (one of those on the book shelves behind the loom in the photo), but I doubt it would have helped me with the odd weaving usages any more than the online dictionaries did.  One way or another, I’m going to weave this sucker.

Thanks for inventing and hosting Pics to Picks, Meg.  You’re a peach.  And thanks for the pictures, Linda.  No inspiration is ever wasted–contrary to appearances!

Warp and weft: light blue 40/2 cotton

Reed: 100 dents per 10 cm

In the reed leave alternate dents empty.  In alternate dents, thread alternately  3 threads from the second and third shafts and one thread from the first shaft.

4 Responses to “Pics to Picks Challenger Waves the White Flag”


  1. Goodness me, that sounds like a spectacular plan. I’m sorry you have no energy, etc., but you did participate so far as designing went.

    “I discovered that when I designed from a starting place someone else chose, it made everything less serious.” I absolutely agree. Or the way I say it, I’m not responsible. It freed up my imagination, that’s for sure.


  2. Thanks Trapunto, for sharing your thought processes and the components you selected along the way. I love being allowed to share a glimpse of your precious items. I don’t think it matters if you never weave a finished product. You have done what Meg challenged us to do which was to be inspired and to plan. Weaving is an optional extra. And I also like the thought of “everything being less serious.”

  3. Dana Says:

    I can appreciate the lack of number 6 and 7. Despite that, I love that you shared the weaving book with us. I hope you get to use that blue yarn on something that makes us salivate some day!

  4. linda Says:

    i enjoyed reading about your process! your investigation and responses to photos was an absolute delight to read. how they all filtered into your brain to gather themselves into a project was also enlightening to read.


Leave a Reply

