Tour of the Costume Box: The Well-Dressed Peasant

October 20, 2011

Halloween Countdown: 11 days

I loved this fabric.  The ground is a heavy, rustling matte black synthetic of some sort.  I want to say taffeta, but it’s heavier than any taffeta I’ve seen.  The pattern is picked out in satiny warp-overshot.  I loved this fabric so much I bought it from St. Vincent de Paul when I was in my teens in the form of a full, gathered skirt on a wide waistband that was really too small for me.   I loved it so much, I picked the skirt apart and made it into curtains for the first house Der Mann and I rented after we were married.  I loved it so much, I took those curtains out of a box (we’ve moved a lot; I’ve learned to save curtains) and turned them into an elastic waist skirt for my nieces using the former curtain-rod casing as a hem.

Pictured here with the popular square-dance crinoline:

The coordinating size small ladies’ cotton top with decorative chain-stitching comes from Goodwill. With the the sleeves hemmed up five inches, it makes a roomy tunic for the well-dressed peasant child.

9 Responses to “Tour of the Costume Box: The Well-Dressed Peasant”


  1. […] it was a skirt!  Then it was curtains!  Then it was a skirt […]

  2. zibilee Says:

    Oh, I love the pattern! It’s beautiful!

  3. Jenny Says:

    I want a crinoline! I never had any crinolines for Halloween costumes!


  4. The skirt, conflicted between curtainment and clothing. May it go on to a long, happy life as peasant costuming!


  5. I’ve begun imaging plays performed in your costumes by nieces:

    “Gunnar! Olga! Come quick! This monastery is a Viking’s playground!”

    “Ha-ha! Back you Northern Scum! If you are to burn down St. Dunlaps, you will first have to cut your way through me, Mordrena, the Exceptionally Wealthily Dressed and Anachronistically Good With a Sword British Peasant Girl!”

    • trapunto Says:

      Ha! My sisters would sound exactly like that when they were little and I overheard them playing. Except maybe the word “anachronistically.”


Leave a Reply

