First Warp on the Varpapuu Table Loom

February 27, 2013

My first warp on the Varpapuu table loom needed to be low-risk, since I had no clue how well the loom would weave, or whether the very small rust spots on the reed would transmit stain. Nothing too light or precious.

Back to the putty-brown 8/2 cotton mill ends then, with some unbleached-linen-colored stripes by the edges to keep it from boring me! I warped up about 6 yards and threaded for 8-shaft rosepath, 12 inches wide in the reed. So far I have woven off (and cut off, and wet finished) a bunch of samples, mostly in the form of napkins. This was the first time I used the double stick header described by Peggy Osterkamp to reattach a warp-in-progress to the cloth beam. I was nervous I would do something dumb like cut in the wrong place, but it worked out fine.

For the second half of the warp I wove some more samples, then started this little runner based on the information I’d gathered from my wet-finished rosepath twills. It’s a gift for a couple who loves Mata Ortiz pottery, and that’s all I really know about their taste; the general idea is to end up with something that will complement the vivid earth tones and set off the high-contrast geometric patterning of the pots.

OrtizRunner1

One Response to “First Warp on the Varpapuu Table Loom”

  1. Carine Says:

    hello
    is it a wrap for carry baby? it would be gorgeous to do one likt this! would you do that?


Leave a Reply

