Tour of the Costume Box: A Cheongsam, a Kimono-Thing, and a Bunch of Fabric

October 18, 2011

Halloween Countdown: 13 days

You will have to trust me that this Chinese silk satin brocade cheongsam (eBay) is prettier than it looks in the picture and will exactly fit my older niece. The only flaw was a ballpoint pen line on the front which came came out with rubbing alcohol and blotting.

And try to believe me when I tell you this silk kimono-robe handed down from a college housemate is a worthy addition to The Box. It appears I myself only wear robes to keep warm–which could explain why this one sat in my drawer for 14 years.  Or maybe I kept it because it reminded me of another silk robe about the same size and weight in my granny’s costume box; it did duty for a lot of different outfits.

Big pieces of drapey fabric are also fun. I think the shiny green polyester was meant to be a window treatment. Honestly, the crap people will put on their windows! The rejected house-goods they will dangle themselves over the sides of the “As Is” bins at IKEA for! Have they no shame?

Moving right along. . .

A wrap from Goodwill that feels like silk but isn’t. Do you see those big bands of color blending from white to magenta to purple? Does anyone know the name for this type of dyeing?–I’ve always wondered. Anyway, it’s luscious, but after getting it home and running it through the delicate cycle I discovered numerous pink candle wax stains! Fortunately, I got them out (mostly) by ironing them between paper towels and spot-cleaning with detergent. Unfortunately, after washing the wrap a second time I found tropical punch stains. There is such a thing as too much fun for grownups.

Last and least, a homemade lace curtain, also from Goodwill. I bleached it, picked out the stitching, cut off the ragged edges. I thought the pattern was kind of classy for nylon lace.

7 Responses to “Tour of the Costume Box: A Cheongsam, a Kimono-Thing, and a Bunch of Fabric”

  1. Susan Berlin Says:

    How I wish I’d had daughters, a granddaughter instead of grandson (sshhh, don’t tell him — and it’s only in this respect, for sure) or like you, neices — but I have an all male crowd, and they DON’T DO dress-up. What a shame! So I get enjoy your blog, instead.

  2. zibilee Says:

    I love those kimonos and have always wanted to own on of my very own. There is a store around here that sells them, but they don’t seem to make them in larger sizes, which annoys me. I think they are beautiful.

    • trapunto Says:

      I’ve noticed that with Japanese clogs! The women’s sizes are all too small. I’ll have to confess that in getting rid of this robe I am not getting rid of my only kimono-y garment. I have a heavy haori (the overjacket you wear with a kimono) from a japanese antique store that sold a lot of them. Only I think it is men’s…

      I wish that your kimono dreams will come true one day!


  3. How does that silk work heaped ina big costume box?

    • trapunto Says:

      Doesn’t. I folded everything very carefully for the packing box and put least wrinkly stuff on the bottom, most wrinkly on top so it would look especially pretty when they unpacked it, but it was all going to arrive creased, and I am sure everything is being stored helter-skelter by the girls. They don’t care, I don’t care.


  4. I comment when I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to add to the discussion. It is caused by the passion communicated in the article I browsed. And on this article Tour of the Costume Box: A Cheongsam, a Kimono-Thing, and a Bunch of Fabric | The Straight of the Goods. I was moved enough to post a thought 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it simply me or do some of these responses appear like they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Could you list all of all your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?


Leave a comment