Tour of the Costume Box: Ball Gown

October 25, 2011

Halloween Countdown: 6 days

First I drew up a pattern for a very full bell-shaped gored skirt and sewed it in blue-grey taffeta.  Then I fashioned the overskirt from some geriatric ruffled nylon curtains (Goodwill).  A piece of coordinating sheer polyester yardage, hemmed on the raw edges, makes a sparkly night-sky wrap.  The skirts are worn over a crinoline and a light blue leotard.

 

I had some material to work up into a bow or a rosette for the center of the waist, but I forgot about it until the day I was packing the box, so it didn’t happen.  Here’s the back of the overskirt.  You can see how it’s a bit poufier than the front because of the way the curtains were made.

4 Responses to “Tour of the Costume Box: Ball Gown”

  1. Cally Says:

    Come on, what are the chances they will really be teamed with a light blue leotard? Much more likely to end up with the peasant smock — or perhaps the knight’s breastplate?

    You have had Too Much Fun with this, I can see. And I am envious. My niece needs to hurry up and get a wee bit older.

    • trapunto Says:

      You’re so right. There are going to be a lot of singing village maids swinging swords and ballgoers in armor. I really only bothered matching the blue leotard to the overskirt for my own sense of completion.

  2. zibilee Says:

    You are so very talented at this! Have you ever thought of starting a business making custom costumes for children during Halloween or for dress up? You would make a fortune! Great job with this costume. It’s gorgeous!

    • trapunto Says:

      What a kind thing to say! But no, I do my sewing, like most things, far to slowly for making money off it to ever be a realistic proposition.


Leave a comment